AF030 – Buttress O’Kneel – Compop 5.3: HyperPop

Buttress OKneel - Compop 5.3: HyperPop

Download MP3 (115 MB) FLAC (329 MB)

After her explorations into bastard pop (her previous two albums were “Bastard Pop” and “MegaBastard”), Buttress wanted to return to the minutely-sliced memetic Frankenstein-techniques she had honed so well on her second Compop release “MegaMegamix”, but with an ear more attuned to artists like Squarepusher and Aphex Twin.  As she describes it, she “wanted to push bastard pop into the shape of drum-n-bass, or something”, using artists like Beyonce, Gwen Stefani, the Black Eyed Peas, and Kelis as source material.  Both poppy and jarring, both revolutionary and sentimental, this may be her most iconic and unique recording to date.  100% Interwebmegalink-approved.


01 Repeating Yrself 1:20
02 Hold Us Underground 4:58
03 GrrlShake 1:54
04 Tricked 3:05
05 Dicked 2:41
06 Thieves of Light 3:32
07 No Matter What They Say 5:08
08 Attack of the 50 Foot Misogynist 0:39
09 Return of the 50 Foot Misogynist 2:11
10 Extremely Rich Girl 1:38
11 Satisfied. Enough. (Xtina mix) 3:34
12 Biting Arizona 4:29
13 Outta Lies 5:44
14 O 5:52

Total time: 46:45

All rights reversed, Buttress O’Kneel 2005. Additional NWA assistance by bress on tracks 4 and 12. Tracks 2, 3 and 10 contain samples of the Buttress O’Kneel album “Compop 4.4: ‘MegaBastard'”, used by permission. Track 9 contains elements of the Buttress O’Kneel track “Ha’ah’ahY’aasE’Eh”, off “Bricolage No 1”, released by Illegal Art. Used by permission. Thanks to Dodgy DJ Dave for the use of his Kaos Pad.

2009 Alias Frequencies AF030

Creative Commons License